Skip to content

RMU Sport Management Grads on Both Sides for Super Bowl XLVII

Super BowlWith Super Bowl XLVII set for this weekend, millions of people around the world are getting ready to sit back and watch the Baltimore Ravens battle the San Francisco 49ers for the NFL title and the coveted Vince Lombardi trophy.

And when the pigskin hits the air this Sunday night in New Orleans, four graduates of Robert Morris University’s Sport Management program will be there to represent their team/employer.

We caught up with these four recently to ask them a few questions about their RMU experience and their feelings about the big game. 

BRAD DOWNS ’99, Corporate Sales Account Executive at Baltimore Ravens

Brad DownsWhat’s your favorite part about your job?
I’d probably have to say the camaraderie with co-workers and the organization. Being part of a team and sharing in the highs (and lows) of professional sports.

How has your degree helped you in your current occupation?
My sport management degree really gave me the foundation for my career in sports. It prepared me right from the start about what life is like in the world of sports. It also gave me a head start on what it takes to break into the industry, from resources to gain internships, from networking opportunities, to volunteer opportunities.

Why is your team going to win?
I feel like it’s our year. We’ve been close a few years in a row now, and we seem to be playing our best right now. Not to mention the team seems to be rallying around Ray Lewis and his last ride.

KEITH WELDON ’03, Senior Account Executive, National Partnerships at Baltimore Ravens

Keith and Ashley WeldonWhat’s your favorite part about your job?
The relationships I have built with sponsors and peers in the industry. I have built a huge network connection and try and keep in touch with everyone as much as possible. I know people at several teams, in all four major pro leagues. I also have good relationships with decision makers at Under Armour, Coca-Cola, Verizon, and Southwest Airlines.

How has your degree helped you in your current occupation?
That’s an easy one. I wouldn’t be working in sports without it. It literally opened doors immediately and my career took off from there. The networking alone was worth it.

Why is your team going to win?
It’s a magical ride. We said it back in early November. Something special is happening with this football team this season. It was just a matter of getting healthy and getting into the playoffs.

NATHAN DILORENZO ’07, Sales Consultant for the San Francisco 49ers

Nathan DiLorenzoWhat’s your favorite part about your job?
My favorite part about my job is the people. Whether it’s my co-workers, fans, or high-level executives, everyone has a passion for sports.

How has your degree helped you in your current occupation?
It’s the reason I have my current occupation. If it wasn’t for Dr. Clark introducing me to Dr. Sutton my last semester at RMU, I would have never made the connections I did in securing my job with the 49ers. Also, my fellow alum Heather Mulvaney landed a position with the 49ers before I did. She helped get my resume to the right people, which is key when trying to get your foot in the door. Networking plays a vital role in this industry, and RMU has one of the best networks of any university in the country when it comes to sports.

I received a dual degree in Marketing and Sport Management. This is helpful because its shows employers you were willing to take on more than just the required course load. Also, marketing and sales goes hand-in-hand so learning both early will help accelerate your experience. The best advice I can give to any current students: STAY BUSY! There are opportunities all around you—take advantage of every single one or as many as you can. You never know who you’re going to meet or build a relationship with.

Why is your team going to win?
First off, I’m so excited to be a part of the team that denies the Ravens of getting another ring. We’re going to win because we have the best coaching staff in the NFL. I can’t say enough about how incredible of a job Coach Jim Harbaugh does. He has the guys ready and prepared every day to get better. He’s turned us into one of the toughest teams to prepare for. The only thing that makes me nervous for this game is…directly across the field on the other sideline will be a VERY similar counterpart.

HEATHER MULVANEY ’08, New Stadium Sales Coordinator for the San Francisco 49ers

Heather MulvaneyWhat’s your favorite part about your job?
I am a part of selling the coolest, most advanced, and innovative new stadium in the world—not to mention we have an awesome team on the field. What could be cooler than that?

How has your degree helped you in your current occupation?
My degree helped me understand the sports world from a business perspective instead of a fan perspective. More than my degree though, the relationships I made with my professors and other RMU alumni have helped me get here.

Why is your team going to win?
We’ve got something special going on out here, and I know our team is great. We are on a quest for six! GO NINERS!

____

by Valentine J. Brkich

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

