Skip to content

Journey from Da ‘Burgh to DC- On Bicycle

This year, Val Brkich will not be reporting on the annual RMU bike trip from Pittsburgh to Washington, DC. Instead, it will be me! Let me introduce myself as Sara Meier, a graduate assistant for the RMU PR/marketing department currently earning my MBA. I also attended Robert Morris for my undergraduate degree in marketing. I played tennis for the Colonials as well. And I even took the Civil War course that Val blogged about a few years ago, so I’m no stranger to the RMU experience.

At the beginning of this year, Todd Hamer, the strength and conditioning coach for RMU Colonial athletes, approached me about going on the bike trip to write about the adventurous trip. I gladly accepted, and I think Val was relieved he didn’t have to relive that nightmare. I was excited, as I had considered going on last year’s trip until my friends and I planned a post-graduation trip to Alaska. I was able to recruit one of those outdoorsy friends to come with me on this trip. Her name is Shannan, and you’ll hear lots about her in the next five days, since we’re traveling together for the duration of the trip. We’ve been training, and I think we’re just anxious to get started. We’re ready to join the group that totals 25 students, staff, family and friends of the RMU community. I only know a handful of people going on the trip, including Todd, his wife, Erica, Armand Buzzelli, who is in charge of campus recreation at RMU, Don Smith, who works in Colonial athletics event management, and Barry and Aaron Himmel, the father and brother respectively of my former tennis teammate and friend, Emily Himmel. I can’t wait to get to know the other students and bike riders and share this experience with them. I’ll introduce you to the rest of the group tomorrow when I meet them.

I’m all packed and ready to go with two bags that will strap onto my bike. I’m really looking forward to returning to Washington, DC, since I interned at a PR/lobbying firm in DC and lived in Arlington, VA through an internship program called The Washington Center a few summers ago. It will feel like returning to a second home of mine when I finally make it to the Key Bridge that crosses the Potomac River on Memorial Day. I don’t think I’ll have time to cross the bridge and visit my favorite shops and restaurants in Georgetown, as we will all be eager to board the bus to Pittsburgh.

Happy trails to RMU. It’s DC or bust for this girl.

P.S. If any of my friends or family is reading this, here is a warning. If I call you to come get me, don’t listen. It’s only my weak mind giving in to my tired body. Don’t come get me! I will survive this trip in one piece!!

Written by Sara M. Meier

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Jonna #

    “Pain is temporary. It may last a minute, or an hour, or a day, or a year, but eventually it will subside and something else will take its place. If I quit, however, it lasts forever. That surrender, even the smallest act of giving up, stays with me. So when I feel like quitting, I ask myself, which would I rather live with?”
    ― Lance Armstrong, It’s Not About the Bike: My Journey Back to Life

    May 24, 2012

Leave a Reply

