Skip to content

Your Story – Frank Vieira ’12


GRADUATED FROM RMU: May 2012
MAJOR: Graphic and Web Design
HOMETOWN: Vestal, N.Y.
OCCUPATION: Country Music Singer/Songwriter

So how’d you end up at Robert Morris University?
Well, originally when I came out this way I had intended on playing football. The Pittsburgh area in general had also always been one of my favorite cities. I played football through one mini-camp my freshman year. I was a wide receiver, and to be honest, I really wasn’t fast enough or tall enough to play. So that was the end of sports in my life, which was sad. But at the same time, it really led me down the music path, so I guess things always have a way of working out.

You’ve written more than 100 songs. What’s your writing process like and where do you get your inspiration?
The writing process is honestly different for every song. Whatever kind of shows up in my head is where it starts. As far as inspiration, there really isn’t anything better than real life and your experiences in life. I’ve always been a big believer that the best stories, and I guess songs in this case, come from real life.

I read that you built your own guitar in high school. Do you still have it?
Yes, and I still have it. Unfortunately these days it’s more of a display piece because it was built by me and not a professional. It’s still pretty awesome, though. One of these days I’d love to have it fixed up.

Who’s your biggest musical influence?
I would have to say Eric Church. He’s not just a great songwriter, he’s also a true artist.

In what ways were you involved in the music scene at Robert Morris?
During my sophomore year at RMU, John Locke ’06 and I created the RMU Open Mic Series.

What’s the biggest show you ever played?
The most memorable show I played was definitely this past May at Jergel’s in Warrendale. We got an opportunity to open for Craig Campbell, so that was pretty neat seeing the way a true professional goes about everything from the time they get there until the last fan leaves. Not to mention he is a tremendous artist and a genuinely good guy.

What do you like so much about country music?
I think the thing that makes country music special is that it is everyday life. It’s written in a way that gives the audience ownership of it. Somehow it makes you feel like you are the song being sung. I think that’s why I feel so connected to it.

What’s your favorite group/song?
My favorite artist is definitely Eric Church. As far as a favorite song…I really don’t have one. But Easton Corbin’s new album “All Over The Road” has been in my headphones constantly this week.

Do you enjoy playing any other type of music?
I do. I feel like good music is good music, regardless of genre. With the way the music industry is evolving, the lines between genres become less clear every day. Which I believe is a good thing.

Where do you see yourself in 5, 10…25 years?
Not entirely sure. This world has a way of putting you where it wants you to be, sometimes where you would never dream of being. As long as I’m happy, I’m not worried about it.

For more on Frank Vieira…

frankvieira.com
@Frank_V_music
facebook.com/frankvieiramusic
youtube.com/pittsburghpenguins67

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

